Boards, Commissions, & Committees

Housing Authority of the County of Kern

Legal Authority: Established by Board of Supervisors Resolution of May 10, 1939 pursuant to Section 34200 et seq. of the Health & Safety Code of State of California (known as Housing Authorities Law) and amended by Board of Supervisors Resolution of October 14, 1958.
Membership Qualifications: Seven members of the Commission, one member nominated for appointment by each Supervisor and two members are tenants who are nominated by the Authority and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, one tenant shall be over 62 years of age.
Term: Four-year staggered term for supervisorial nominated appointees; terms expiring May 10 of fourth year. Two-year terms for tenant members; terms expiring February 10 of odd-numbered years.
Duties: The power of the Authority is vested in the Commissioners in office from time to time (Health & Safety Code Section 34275). To set policy for the operation of the Housing Authority of the County of Kern.
Meeting Place and Time: Housing Authority Central Administrative Offices
601-24th Street
Bakersfield, CA 93301
Generally on second Wednesday of each month at 2:00 P.M.
Compensation: Members receive $50.00 per meeting (maximum of four meetings per month) plus travel mileage reimbursement based on policy determinations; additional travel and subsistence paid when incurred in discharge of duties.
Ethics Training: Pursuant to State law, on or after January 1, 2006, any person newly appointed shall successfully complete a course in ethics training approved by the Fair political Practices Commission and Attorney General. Each member is required to complete this training every two years.
Contact: Housing Authority of the County of Kern
601 24th Street
Bakersfield, CA 93301
(661) 631-8500
  Oath and Statement of Economic Interests (Form 700) Required
Members When Appointed Appointed By Whom Term Expires
Max Bacerra 1/30/1990 Supervisorial District 1 5/10/2019
Raju Singh Jassar 4/25/2006 Supervisorial District 2 5/10/2019
Fred Haas 4/19/1994 Supervisorial District 3 5/10/2014
Charles E. "Gene" Smith 3/7/1989 Supervisorial District 4 5/10/2020
Jonathan W. Webster 1/23/2007 Supervisorial District 5 5/10/2021
Brenda Callahan (Tenant) 3/11/1997 Board of Supervisors 2/10/2019
Angelica Ortiz (Tenant) 5/23/2017 Board of Supervisors 2/10/2019